Skip to main content
Department News

Dr. Hawkins made IEEE Fellow


Recognizing the achievements of its members is an important part of the mission of the IEEE. Each year, following a rigorous evaluation procedure, the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for elevation to IEEE Fellow. Less than 0.1% of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation.

The IEEE Board of Directors, at its November 2015 meeting, elevated Dr. Aaron Hawkins to the position of IEEE Fellow for his contributions to the field of optofluidics.

Currently, 6 of our 22 faculty now have this distinction, making them a very select group. They include Drs. Hawkins, Jensen, Beard, Comer, Warnick, and Long.